MJO Task Force


The Madden-Julian Oscillation (MJO) Task Force (hereafter MJO-TF) has the goal to facilitate improvements in the representation of the MJO in weather and climate models in order to increase the predictive skill of the MJO and related weather and climate phenomena.

The MJO-TF was initially formed in 2010 under the banner of the Year of Tropical Convection (YOTC) activity following the earlier success of the US CLIVAR MJO Working Group (from 2006-2009). Successes were achieved in making a set of MJO simulation diagnostics as well as in the establishment of an activity to monitor and compare MJO forecasts in real time.

At the beginning of 2013 the MJO-TF was reformulated again as the WGNE MJO Task Force with the replacement of five members and the injection of new ideas.

Terms of references

Membership list 

  • Charlotte DeMott, Co-chair, Colorado State University
    e-mail: Charlotte.DeMott at Colostate.edu
  • Daehyun Kim, Co-chair, University of Washington
    e-mail: daehyun at uw.edu
  • Samson Hagos, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    e-mail: samson.hagos at pnnl.gov
  • Yoo-Geun Ham, Chonnam National University
    e-mail: ygham at chonnam.ac.kr
  • Stephanie Henderson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    e-mail: sahenderson at wisc.edu
  • Matthew Janiga, Naval Research Laboratory
    e-mail: matthew.janiga at nrlmry.navy.mil
  • Xianan Jiang, UCLA
    e-mail: xianan at ucla.edu
  • Hyemi Kim, Ewha Womans University
    email: hyemi.kim at ewha.ac.kr
  • Richard Neale, NCAR
    e-mail: rneale at ucar.edu
  • Donaldi Permana, BKMG
    e-mail: donaldi.sp at gmail.com
  • Naoko Sakaeda, University of Oklahoma
    email: nsakaeda at ou.edu
  • Tamaki Suematsu, RIKEN
     email: tamaki.suematsu at riken.jp
  • Daisuke Takasuka, University of Tokyo
    email: takasuka at aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
  • Steve Woolnough, Uni. of Reading
    e-mail: s.j.woolnough at reading.ac.uk
  • Prince Xavier, UK Met Office
    e-mail: prince.xavier at metoffice.gov.uk

Former members:

Xiouhua Fu, U. of Hawaii
Jon Gottschalck, NCEP
Harry Hendon, Bureau of Met.
Nicholas Klingaman, U. of Reading
June-Yi Lee, Pusan National U.
Hai Lin, Environment Canada
Eric Maloney, Colorado State U.
Dave Raymond, New Mexico Tech
Tomoki Miyakawa, AORI/U. of Tokyo
Camille Risi, LMD

Masaki Satoh, U. of Tokyo
Ken Sperber, LLNL
Augustin Vintzilleos, NCEP
Frederic Vitart, ECMWF
Duane Waliser, JPL
Matthew Wheeler, Bureau of Met.
Chidong Zhang, PMEL
Zane Martin, Colorado State U.
Tieh-Yong Koh, Singapore U. of Social Sciences

Project and activities

Past meetings, presentations and minutes